Tuesday feature: An evening of classic comedy

Painting of “The Imaginary Invalid” by Molière

Every Tuesday in March and April we present a program of classic comedy.  Writers as diverse as Chaucer, Richard Brinsley Sheridan, Molière, Mark Twain, Stephen Leacock and H.G. Wells will take us on a humorous journey that spans centuries. There will be time travel, spiritism and hypochondria.

The actors appearing this evening will include W.C. Fields, Bob Hope, Jack Benny and many, many more. The program will start just after 18.00 (CET) on Tuesday March 10. That is at 13.00 in New York, and 10.00 in Los Angeles. According to Time Zone Converter.

Current playlist:
  1. “Monsieur Beaucaire” by Booth Tarkington starring Bob Hope
  2.  Chaucer’s “The Wife of Bath’s Tale”
  3. “Maddened by mystery” by Stephen Leacock
  4. Mark F Smith reads excerpts from the adventures of Baron Munchausen
  5. “Cheating Cheaters” by Max Marcin
  6. H.G. Wells “Conversations with an Uncle (now extinct)”
  7.  Mark Twain “A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court”
  8. John K Bangs “half-hours with the idiot: A Psychic Venture”
  9. Molière “The Doctor in Spite of himself”
  10. Barry Pain “The Problem Club: The Q-Loan Problem”
  11. “Brewster’s Millions” by George Barr McCutcheon starring Jack Benny
  12. “The Lumber Room” by Saki
  13. “The Rivals” by Richard Brinsley Sheridan
  14. “The Detective” by Rabindranath Tagore
  15.  “Araminta and the automobile” by Charles Battell Loomis
  16. “Poppy” by Dorothy Donnelly starring W.C. Fields
  17. “Pigs is Pigs” by Elllis Parker Butler
  18. “The Imaginary Invalid” by Molière
  19. “An Honest Log-Roller” by Israel Zangwill
  20. “The Awfull Truth” by Arthur Richman (starring Bob Hope)

 

The program features public domain classical music from musopen.org, and some music by the creative commons composer Kevin MacLeoud.